Concepts to Resolve

For those of you who follow my fanpage (www.facebook.com/ArtemisDoodleGod) would have realised that I’ve made my return from my mini-hiatus. While I do enjoy the work that I had been putting out, I felt as if I had been neglecting what comes more naturally to me. In retrospection it feels as if I’d spent so much time trying to find a style that I wasn’t allowing myself to grow organically. I was just stagnating but I’ve decided to take time to just create in a way that feels best for me.

Now as you would know if you’ve been following this blog for a little while, I’m working towards creating a brand of my own, and I’m hoping to use a lot of my drawing style (I want it to be a joy to make, not a chore!). While I’m nowhere near ready to start designing, I had two concepts (and I’m drawing a 3rd) that I wanted to play around with. I definitely want to do something with both of these concepts but I think they’re both in need of a bit more work/development. They feel incomplete somehow…or maybe that’s just my over-exacting brain being demanding. ImageImageImageImage

With the lion heart idea, I really like the intricacy of the design, the only thing is it’s so concrete. I mean, it’s a complete drawing but as a design (or rather a marketable design) it feels as though it’s lacking something. But I don’t like how it looks on the tee with the additional colour. As for the Afro Queen…I was inspired by/going for a more graphic look as seen here:

Image

(Source: http://skreened.com/hobbytees/woman-face-t-shirt)

I think I missed the mark, even though I still do like how it came out. I think with a bit of tweaking I might be more satisfied. What I might have to try is being more economical with my lines. Less concrete, literal and controlling…more open and free-flowing. Here’s to hoping I find a way to resolve this soon.

Peace and Love family,

-J

P.S. A big thank you to those who have been reading, and hello to my newest reader(s) in Italy and Poland 🙂

Leave a Reply

