Thoughts: Dysmorphic Minds

In addition to developing my ideas and sharing my creative process, I’ll be using this blog to share my thoughts (and ranting occasionally). This isn’t an attempt at life advice or preaching, just me sharing thoughts on subjects close to my heart and trying to clear some space in my brain. Who knows, maybe someone out there will benefit from it or pause to think. Life works in mysterious ways, right?

The first of these blog posts will be on something I’ve nicknamed the Dysmorphic Mind. The name is based partly on the Body Dysmorphia Disorder (BDD) phenomenon. For those of you who aren’t familiar with BDD, it is a condition ” wherein the affected person is concerned with body image, manifested as excessive concern about and preoccupation with a perceived defect of their physical features.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Body_dysmorphia, accessed May 13th 2012…not the best reference but it’ll do for now). This is by no means an attempt to trivialise BDD sufferers; the human mind is a lot more powerful than a lot of us seem to realise…which is the whole point of this blog.

The problem with the BDD sufferer is not that there is anything physically wrong with the sufferer. To my (admittedly limited) understanding, there is nothing physically wrong with them. The problem is in their thinking…they agonise over “a perceived defect”. Their mind has convinced them that there is something grotesque about them that should remain hidden; their thinking and mentality cripples them. To grossly oversimplify it, the only thing that is wrong with them is the notion that there is something wrong with them.

And so it is with a lot of us. Myself included.

It’s at this point that I offer myself up as an example. My whole life, I have suffered with feelings of inadequacy. I thought I wasn’t talented, intelligent, cool or attractive enough to get anywhere in life. I had zero confidence and I felt as if people only liked me because they didn’t know the ‘real me’. My insecurities ruled my life to the point where I wasn’t even seeing the reality around me.  My mind only allowed me to see things in a way that would cause me more pain and make me feel even more insecure. And for years, I lived like this. It was only recently that I have been blessed to see that this is not the case.  Some days, when I’m particularly hard up I still feel that way but bad habits are always hard to break.

After wrapping my head around that, I began to wonder how many of us feel the same way. How many of us have suffered because we have convinced ourselves of all these negative things?

How many of us think we aren’t good enough to achieve our dreams or that we’ll never amount to anything in life?

How many of us settle for less than what we want because we’re too insecure and self-defeating to really go after something with everything that we have?

I suspect the answer is “far too many”. Not enough of us realise that we were created with everything we need inside of us already. We have flaws, but we were also blessed with the power to correct them (if we choose to). We have to have faith and trust that when we put our minds to a task, something will happen…perhaps not exactly what we expected but something will happen. There is confidence in knowing that within ourselves lies the potential for greatness. Inside every one of us is a person of unparalleled excellence who has something unique and beautiful to bring to this world. We just need to see that the only thing that needs fixing is this mistaken belief that we are lacking in some way. That is deficient thinking family. It’s hard to conceive that and live in the reality that we have everything we need to achieve greatness and improve ourselves. The alternative is to live a life paralysed by fear and insecurities…and nobody wants that…I think.

So to summarise:

I am enough. You are enough. We are all enough. To think anything else is, to my mind, a disservice to yourself and your potential. Hope I haven’t bored you too much!

 

Peace and love family,

-J

P.S.

Shout out to the folks who’ve been reading my blog in Barbados, Trinidad & Tobago, the UK, France and Brazil. Just letting you know your time and presence is greatly appreciated 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

